Hunters Education Courses
Anyone born on or after January 1, 1973 must have completed a hunter education course and show the certificate to purchase any hunting license in Wisconsin. Wisconsin law requires anyone under the age of 16 to be accompanied by a parent or guardian over 18 while hunting or using a firearm for any purpose. However, young people who complete the hunter education course and receive a certificate are eligible to hunt and use firearms without supervision at age 14.
The hunter education course instills in students the knowledge and skill to be a responsible and safe hunter. The basic course consists of 10 lessons during a minimum of 10 hours. Students learn how hunting accidents are caused and how they can be prevented. Hunter responsibility and safety are stressed throughout the classes, which consist of lectures, demonstrations, group discussions, practical exercises, and individual study and activity assignments.
Hunter education graduates receive a certificate that is accepted in every state, Canadian Province, and Mexico.
2018 Hunter Education/Safety Course Schedules
|Date||Time||Type of Class|
|March 2||5:30pm - 8:30pm (DNR)||In Person Instruction|
|March 3||5:30pm - 8:30pm (DNR)||In Person Instruction|
|March 5||5:30pm - 8:30pm (DNR)||In Person Instruction|
|March 10||5:30pm - 8:30pm (DNR)||In Person Instruction|
|March 12||5:30pm - 8:30pm (DNR)||In Person Instruction|
|March 14||08:00am - 12:00 Noon||Field Day|
|Online Course Requirement|
|March 28||07:30am - 03:30pm||Online Course Completion Field Day|
|August 8||07:30am - 03:30pm||Online Course Completion Field Day|
|October 3||07:30am - 03:30pm||Online Course Completion Field Day|
All Activities will held at the Oconomowoc Sportsman’s Club Grounds and Clubhouse.
Those enrolled in the Hunters Ed classes must acquire a DNR Customer Number by calling 1-888-936-7463. You may also get a DNR Customer Number by clicking here.
Minors must have their parent’s signature.
Fee for the course is $10.00.
If you wish to register & enroll, please proceed to the DNR Hunter Safety Registration page. Each registrant will require a DNR Customer Number in order to complete their registration.
IF you are a Member of the OCS, there is no need for you to register at the DNR (it would help if you did). We will take care of the registration for you
The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources has information on the courses and requirements. They also have taken over all course registration.
Instructor Training – All Hunter’s Education Instructors will need continuing education credits prior to 2013. These credits can be earned via open book test, regional workshops, or meetings. Contact the DNR for more information.